Inheritance law (German and international)

I advise my clients on which of the succession arrangements possible by law will best fit their wishes and requirements. I draft wills and inheritance agreements for them, including in combination with advance directives or living wills and durable powers of attorney for health care.

Testamentary dispositions often require recording by a notary. In these cases, I work with experienced and specialized notaries in the region and beyond, and I am also happy to work with the notaries with whom my clients typically work as a matter of course.

I advise my clients on when the order of the execution of a will makes sense and on the choice of a suitable executor. I myself also work as an executor.

In case of succession, I advise my clients on the consequences of accepting the inheritance and the possibilities of refusing it, including with regard to claims to a compulsory portion of the estate.

I represent them in proceedings for issuance of a certificate of inheritance and other matters before the probate courts and in all contentious inheritance matters before the regular courts.

I advise clients from Germany who hold assets in other countries (as well as international clients with assets in Germany) with regard to the applicable inheritance law and the inheritance-law consequences arising from it, both after a succession has taken place and beforehand, on the issue of the most productive way to arrange testamentary dispositions.

I advise and represent my clients when asserting and enforcing inheritance-law claims abroad and conduct the correspondence with the local courts, government agencies, attorneys, and notaries on their behalf. In addition, I work with attorneys from elsewhere in Europe as well as throughout the Americas and conduct the correspondence with these parties so that they can successfully represent my clients in dealings with the foreign opponents, government agencies, and courts.

Erbrecht (national und international)

Ich berate meine Mandanten, welche der vom Gesetz möglichen Gestaltungen der Erbfolge ihren Wünschen und Bedürfnissen am besten gerecht wird. Ich entwerfe für sie Testamente, Erbverträge, auch in Kombination mit Patientenverfügungen und Vorsorgevollmachten.

Letztwillige Verfügungen bedürfen vielfach notarieller Beurkundung. Hier arbeite ich regional und überregional mit erfahrenen und spezialisierten Notaren zusammen, selbstverständlich aber auch gerne mit den Notaren, mit meine Mandanten üblicherweise zusammenarbeiten.

Ich berate meine Mandanten, in welchen Fällen die Anordnung der Testamentsvollstreckung sinnvoll ist, und bei der Auswahl eines geeigneten Testamentsvollstreckers. Ich bin auch selbst als Testamentsvollstrecker tätig.

Im Erbfall berate ich meine Mandanten über die Konsequenzen der Annahme der Erbschaft, die Möglichkeiten der Ausschlagung der Erbschaft, auch in Bezug auf Pflichtteilsansprüche.

Ich vertrete sie in den Verfahren auf Erteilung eines Erbscheins und sonstigen Angelegenheiten vor den Nachlaßgerichten und in sämtlichen streitigen Erbangelegenheiten vor den ordentlichen Gerichten.

Ich berate Mandanten aus Deutschland mit Vermögen im Ausland (sowie ausländische Mandanten mit Vermögen in Deutschland) über das jeweils anwendbare Erbrecht und die sich daraus ergebenden erbrechtlichen Konsequenzen, sowohl nach Eintritt des Erbfalles als auch im Vorfeld bei der Frage der zweckmäßigen Gestaltung letztwilliger Verfügungen.

Ich berate und vertrete meine Mandanten bei der Geltendmachung und Durchsetzung erbrechtlicher Ansprüche im Ausland und führe für sie die Korrespondenz mit den dortigen Gerichten, Behörden, Anwälten und Notaren. Außerdem arbeite ich mit Anwälten aus Europa, sowie Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika zusammen und führe die Korrespondenz mit diesen, damit sie meine Mandanten erfolgreich im Umgang mit den ausländischen Anspruchsgegnern, Behörden und Gerichten vertreten können.