Passenger rights in the case of delayed flights, Order of the Court of Justice of the European Communities of 14 November 2014, Case number C-394/14

In the Order of 14 November 2014, the Court (Fifth Chamber) confirmed its previous judgements according to which flight passengers are entitled to the compensation payments according to Article 5 para. 1 of the Regulation (EC) No 261/2004 in case of a delay of 3 hours or more (compensation payments in the amount of EUR 250 to EUR 600, depending on the flight route) Furthermore the Court has specified its interpretation of Article 5 para 3 of the Regulation:

Pursuant to Article 5 para 3 of the Regulation, the operating airline is not obligated to pay compensation if it can prove that the cancellation is due to extraordinary circumstances which could not have been avoided, even if all reasonable measurements had been taken.

In the case on which the decision of the Court of Justice of 14 November 2014 is based, the reason of the delay had been the collision of an airport vehicle, towing passenger boarding steps, with the airplane.

According to the Order of the Court of Justice of 14 November 2014, however, this cannot be qualified as “extraordinary circumstance” which would exempt the airline from the existing obligation to compensation against the passengers in the case of a long delay of the flight operated with this airplane.

This entry was posted in NEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

Passagierrechte bei Flugverspätung, Beschluß des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Gemeinschaften vom 14. November 2014, Rechtssache C-394/14

Der Gerichtshof (Fünfte Kammer) hat mit dem Beschluß vom 14. November 2014 seine bisherige Rechtsprechung, wonach Fluggästen bei einer Verspätung von 3 Stunden oder mehr die in Art. 5 Abs. 1 der Verordnung (EC) Nr. 261/2004 vorgesehenen Ausgleichsleistungen zustehen, (Ausgleichszahlungen von 250 € bis 600 € je nach Flugstrecke) bestätigt und präzisiert, wie Art 5 Abs. 3 der Verordnung auszulegen ist:

Gemäß Art. 5 Abs. 3 der Verordnung ist das ausführende Luftfahrtunternehmen nicht verpflichtet, Ausgleichszahlungen zu leisten, wenn es nachweisen kann, daß die Annullierung auf außergewöhnliche Umstände zurückgeht, die sich auch dann nicht hätten vermeiden lassen, wenn alle zumutbaren Maßnahmen ergriffen worden wären.

In dem Fall, der dem Beschluß des Gerichtshofs vom 14. November 2014 zugrunde lag, war Ursache der Flugverspätung die Kollision eines Treppenfahrzeuges eines Flughafens mit dem Flugzeug.

Nach dem Beschluß des Gerichtshofs kann dies jedoch nicht als „außergewöhnlicher Umstand“ qualifiziert werden, der das Luftfahrtunternehmen bei großer Verspätung des mit diesem Flugzeug durchgeführten Fluges von seiner bestehenden Ausgleichspflicht gegenüber den Fluggästen befreit.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter AKTUELLES veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.